Home News APC ticket: List of Presidential aspirants who returned their forms

APC ticket: List of Presidential aspirants who returned their forms


Twenty-five out of the 29 presidential aspirants that bought the All Progressives Congress (APC) expression of interest and nomination forms are now in the verge of facing the party’s screening panel later today after submitting their completed forms at press time last night.

The screening is scheduled to last for two days ahead of the primary arranged for May 28, 2022.

Among those who submitted their forms in time yesterday include Asiwaju Bola Tinubu; Vice President Yemi Osinbajo; President African Development Bank (AfDB), Dr Akinwunmi Adesina; immediate past Minister of Science and Technology, Dr. Ogbonnaya Onu and Senate President Ahmad Lawan.

Unfortunately, the same could not be said of former President Goodluck Jonathan and Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) Governor Godwin Emefiele both of whom did not turn in the forms bought for them by “friends and well-wishers.”

A source at the APC national secretariat said the two men “have up till midnight to submit their forms. But as at 9 pm, we have not seen them or their agents.”

In that regard, a group approached a Federal High Court, Abuja praying it to bar the former president from participating as a candidate in the next presidential election, while a Delta State High Court, Kwale, restrained the board of the CBN and the Independent National Electoral Commission  (INEC) from stopping Emefile from seeking an elective post.

The Nation sourced that the legal directorate of the party on Thursday started the vetting of documents submitted by the aspirants with the aim of verifying the authenticity of the papers.

A source in the department said the party leadership learnt a big lesson from the last minute disqualification of the party’s governorship candidate and his deputy in Bayelsa State due to some lapses in the documentation of the then deputy governor-elect.

“We are going through all the papers filed by all the aspirants in order to avoid any avoidable mistakes. Anyone with past criminal records or convictions will not be allowed to contest. We want to mitigate any post-election litigation that can upturn our victory,” the source said.

Other presidential aspirants whose nomination forms were received at press time were former Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi; former Minister of Niger Delta Development, Sen. Godswill Akpabio; former Imo State governor, Sen. Rochas Okorocha; and former Ogun State governor, Sen. Ibikunle Amosun.

Others were Pastor Tunde Bakare; Cross River State governor, Prof. Ben Ayade; his Ebonyi State counterpart, Gov. Dave Umahi; Chairman, Nigeria Governors Forum (NGF) and Ekiti State governor, Dr. Kayode Fayemi; Minister of State, Education, Hon. Emeka Nwajiuba; former Senate President, Sen. Ken Nnamani; Kogi State Governor, Yahaya Bello; Jigawa State Governor Mohammed Badaru Abubakar and former Zamfara State governor, Sen.  Ahmed Yerima.

Also on the list of presidential aspirants that filed their papers were  Senator Ajayi Borroffice; the only female aspirant, Mrs  Uju Kennedy Ohnenye;  Pastor Nicholas Felix Nwagbo; former House of  Representative Speaker Dimeji Bankole; former Minister of State, Petroleum, Chief Timipre Sylva; former Minister of Information, Chief Ikeobasi Mokelu; and Mr Tein Jack Rich.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here